Rue Vaugirard : longest street in Paris

After a disappointing job interview back in 2012, I called a friend and walked my way out of the office located in the the periphery of 17th arrondissement. I talked and talked, and walked and walked, and before I knew it, I arrived just 5 minutes walk from my area in the 13th arrondissement, almost 2 hours later. I concentrated so much on my stories on the phone that I didn’t notice that I had walked across north western Paris to the southern part of the city, crossed two bridges (the right bank and the left bank bridges). That, opened up my eyes that Paris is a not just walkable for its great trottoirs, but also for its large but compact size!

I have been a huge fans of walk since (Parisians are considered as the biggest number of walkers in the country), so to beat the cold in December, I decided to walk the longest street – Rue Vaugirard.

Rue Vaugirard, situated in the left bank,  stretches across 6th arrondissement to the 15th, to the edge of Paris intra muros (inside city). I started walking from the big numbers area (in the 15th), and went up (literally going up if you see the city map) to the 6th.

I took the wrong turn from Rue Convention, the intersection with the Vaugirard, and I ended up to Porte de Versailles (the limit of the intra muros). But along the way, I discovered Petite Ceinture of the 15th (the old unused railway, transformed into hung garden and pedestrian of 1.5 km above the street). I climbed the stairs and saw the traffic from above, and saw some half cut buildings that looked pretty cute though:p Below, there were some giant paintings and old garage that looked like rustic New York garage with its bricks, I didn’t know what they were doing there just below the railway, but it made the ambiance for my photo:-)

The Little Belt – is not that long, but I didn’t feel like walking on it today so I went back to rue Vaugirard, to continue my walk.

If you love city walk, and love admiring Parisian buildings and architecture, you’d love walking the street since you’d be crossing some tacky buildings,  weird style of rooftop, to beautiful apartments with beautiful balconies!

Walking past some shops ( a lot of shops), cafés with its local delicacies, beautiful chapel, small street, rather big street, calm street, back to busy street, passing 7 metro stations, from the one with less people (Falguière for example), the one with the view (Pasteur), or the one with busy ambiance (Saint Placide – near my ex school), also passing some squares and small gardens (with the view of Eiffel Tower…). The only dilemma while walking was which café to stop by for snacks????? 🙂

My 4.3 km – almost 11 000 steps – walk stopped in front of Place de la Sorbonne (the end, well, the first number of Rue Vaugirard…), and I  decided to called it a day and turned to my sanctuary in the Saint Sulpice area to stretch my legs and had a cup of hot chocolate to reward myself!

Till the next walk!

 

Leave a Reply

